## HAMILTON COUNTY, TENNESSEE Office of the County Mayor WESTON WAMP

For Immediate Release March 28, 2023 Contact: Mary Francis Hoots, 423-680-0344

## Our Communities, Our Growth: Hamilton County's First Comprehensive Growth Plan

Hamilton County Mayor Weston Wamp, alongside Hamilton County Commissioners, announced the county's first comprehensive growth plan for the future of the unincorporated areas of Hamilton County.

"As we plan for the future, our aim is sustainable and responsible growth that preserves the unique and cultural aspects of the county," said Mayor Wamp. "I look forward to working with the County Commission and the RPA to pave the way for robust communities from Sale Creek to Apison."

Hamilton County is working with the Chattanooga-Hamilton County Regional Planning Agency (RPA) and Ragan Smith Associates to support the planning process. Through this initiative, stakeholders will be collaborating on issues ranging from education and transportation to infrastructure and zoning regulations.

"I am very excited to be leading planning efforts in the Mid-County planning zone. It's important we have a structured and intentional idea for growth in our unincorporated areas," said Hamilton County Commission Chairman Chip Baker.

For the purposes of this planning process, the major unincorporated areas of the county have been divided into four regions. Each area will be co-chaired by county officials, who are listed below.

North End (unincorporated parts of Soddy Daisy & Sale Creek): Mayor Weston Wamp & Commissioner Gene-O Shipley

**Northeast** *(unincorporated parts of Birthwood, Ooltewah* ピ *Georgetown)*: Commissioners Jeff Eversole & Steve Highlander

**Mid-County** *(unincorporated parts of Signal Mountain. ピ Middle Valley)*: Commissioners Chip Baker & Ken Smith

**Southeast** (unincorporated parts of Collegedale, East Brainerd ピ Apison): Commissioners Mike Chauncey & Lee Helton